The Children’s Village

The first Portuguese SOS Children’s Village was constructed in Bicesse near Estoril at a distance of about 25 kilometers from the capital of Lisbon. From the SOS Children’s Village Bicesse, which has been set up on a hilly site, the children, mothers and co-workers enjoy a splendid view over the sea and the beautiful landscape around the picturesque town of Sintra.



The SOS Children’s Village Bicesse consists of the family houses, the Village Director’s house, a community house, an administrative building and a laundry. A pair of semi-detached houses serves as a Girls’ Residence for the older girls who move there, in order to prepare for their independent life. The SOS Children’s Village Bicesse runs its own SOS Kindergarten. In addition to that, it offers an SOS Social Centre and an SOS Day Care Centre to the people of the neighborhood. The children from the SOS Children’s Village attend public primary and secondary schools in the vicinity. For the young people who obtain education or vocational training in the near capital, an SOS Youth House has been set up in Lisbon.


Right now seven SOS-Children’s Village mothers and three adolescent girls care for about 50 children in the SOS-Children’s Village of Bicesse. In the 40 years since the construction already 280 children and adolescents were raised in the SOS-Children’s village and live now an independent life.

Das Kinderdorf

Das erste portugiesische SOS-Kinderdorf entstand in Bicesse bei Estoril, etwa 25 km von der Landeshauptstadt Lissabon entfernt. Es liegt leicht erhöht in den Hang gebaut und bietet einen eindrucksvollen Blick auf den Atlantik und den Berg, an dessen Fuß der malerische Ort Sintra liegt.



Das SOS-Kinderdorf besteht aus den Familienhäusern, dem Dorfleiterhaus, dem Gemeindehaus, einem Verwaltungsgebäude (mit einer Bibliothek und einer Aula) sowie Räumlichkeiten, die für Lernhilfe genutzt werden. Des weiteren dürfen ein Spielplatz, ein Fußballplatz sowie ein Schwimmbad für das Gesellschaftsleben natürlich nicht fehlen. In einem Doppelhaus sind die größeren Mädchen untergebracht, die nicht mehr bei der Familie leben und auf die Selbständigkeit vorbereitet werden, untergebracht. Die schulpflichtigen Kinder besuchen die Schulen in der Umgebung. Für die Jugendlichen, die in Ausbildung stehen, wurde in Rio Maior ein Jugendhaus eingerichtet. Das angeschlossene Sozialzentrum „Arco-Iris“ betreut vorwiegend pensionierten SOS-Kinderdorf-Müttern sowie älteren Personen aus der Umgebung.


Derzeit leben über 50 Kinder in der Betreuung von sieben SOS-Kinderdorf-Müttern sowie drei jugendliche Mädchen im SOS-Kinderdorf Bicesse. In den letzten 40 Jahren sind bereits um die 280 Kinder und Jugendliche im SOS-Kinderdorf aufgewachsen und führen heute ein selbständiges Leben.